About the
WNY Law Center

Combining direct legal services, policy advocacy, local coalitions, and community involvement to effect real, unique change.

Mission

To ensure all members of our community receive the full range of civil legal services including “non-traditional” legal assistance like policy advocacy and legal education. 

Our Impact

As of 2019

14,900

Clients Represented

809

Households Saved from

HOMELESSNESS

40%

Reduction in vacant
properties in less than
2 years

Awarded and Settlements Avoided

$20 MILLION

$1.5

BILLION

Invested in the

community

$5

MILLION

Saved Fighting Improper

Collections

The First Bank and Financial Wellness
Center Opened on Buffalo's East Side

2012

Foreclosures
Prevented

Team

Meet the people who make our work possible.

Aaron Lin

Staff Attorney,
Foreclosure

716-828-8413
Alin@Wnylc.Net

Aaron Lin

Staff Attorney,
Foreclosure

716-828-8413
Alin@Wnylc.Net

Elizabeth Cattarin

Paralegal, CLARO

716-828-8428
ecattarin@wnylc.net

Francis Marrano

Staff Attorney,
Foreclosure

716-828-8452
Fmarrano@Wnylc.Net

Francis Marrano

Staff Attorney,
Foreclosure

716-828-8452
Fmarrano@Wnylc.Net

George Burkett

Paralegal, CLARO & Foreclosure

716-828-8451
gburkett@wnylc.net

Heather Murcin

Law Clerk, Evictions

716-828-8446
hmurcin@wnylc.net

Ian Grogan

Paralegal, Foreclosure

716-828-8417
igrogan@wnylc.net

Jean Blizzard

Paralegal & Community Engagement Specialist,
Vacant & Abandoned Properties

716-828-8447
Jblizzard@wnylc.net

Jean Blizzard

Paralegal & Community Engagement Specialist,
Vacant & Abandoned Properties

716-828-8447
Jblizzard@Wnylc.Net

Joseph Kelemen

Staff Attorney,
Vacant & Abandoned Property & Litigation

716-828-8411
jak@wnylc.net

Jordan Modrzynski

Supervising Attorney,
Evictions

716-828-8438
jmodrzynski@wnylc.net

Kate Lockhart

Vacant & Abandoned Property Program Director

716-828-8420
klockhart@wnylc.net

Kathryn Franco

Data Analyst,
BNCRC Chair

716-828-8440
kfranco@wnylc.net

Keisha Williams

Executive Director

716-828-8415
kwilliams@wnylc.net

Lauren Mencobello

Paralegal,
Foreclosure

716-828-8449
lmencobello@Wnylc.net

Lauren Mencobello

Paralegal,
Foreclosure

716-828-8449
Lmencobello@Wnylc.Net

Luke Mazur

Staff Attorney,
Evictions

716-828-8450
lmazur@wnylc.net

Luke Mazur

Staff Attorney,
Evictions

716-828-8450
LMazur@Wnylc.Net

Lyndsay Licata

Paralegal,
Small Business Legal Clinic

716-828-8457
Llicata@Wnylc.Net

Lyndsay Licata

Paralegal,
Small Business Legal Clinic

716-828-8457
Llicata@Wnylc.Net

Matthew Parham

Supervising Staff Attorney,
CLARO

716-828-8422
Mparham@wnylc.net

Matthew Parham

Supervising Staff Attorney,
CLARO

716-828-8422
Mparham@Wnylc.Net

Neha Karambelkar

Managing Attorney,
Small Business Legal Clinic

716-828-8445
Nkarambelkar@Wnylc.Net

Patricia Cipriani

Staff Attorney,
Bankruptcy

716-828-8412
Pcipriani@Wnylc.Net

Patricia Cipriani

Staff Attorney,
Bankruptcy

716-828-8412
Pcipriani@Wnylc.Net

Paulette Campbell

Managing Attorney, CLARO

716-828-8423
pcampbell@wnylc.net

Trek Fulater

Staff Attorney,
Evictions
716-828-8430
tfulater@wnylc.net

Trek Fulater

Staff Attorney,
Evictions
716-828-8430
Tfulater@Wnylc.Net

Samantha Axberg

Staff Attorney, Vacant & Abandoned Properties

716-828-8419
saxberg@wnylc.net

Yanis Martinez

Paralegal,
Evictions

716-828-8426
ymartinez@wnylc.net

Sherry Soules

Office Manager/HR Coordinator

716-828-8410
ssoules@wnylc.net

Sherry Soules

Office Manager/HR Coordinator

716-828-8423
Ssoules@Wnylc.Net

In Memoriam

Tom Karkau

Computer Programmer

Board

President

Melinda
Saran

Vice-President

Joseph
McCarthy

Secretary

Catherine Creighton

Treasurer

Karen
Welch

John
LaFalce

Honorary Member

John
LaFalce

Honorary
Member

Catherine
Creighton

Catherine
Creighton

Alexander
Wright

Alexander
Wright

Melinda
Saran

Melinda
Seran

Marshall
Bertram

Marshall
Bertram

John
Lipsitz

John
Lipsitz

Joseph
McCarthy

Joseph
McCarthy

Karen
Welch

Karen
Welch

What People Say About Us

Testimonials

Help the WNYLC Put a Stop to Injustice in Our Community

Contact Us!

Email Us!

assistance@wnylc.net

We look forward to hearing from you!

Call Us!

716.855.0203

Office Hours:
9:00am - 5:00pm
Or By Appointment

Our Address

By Appointment Only

37 Franklin Street
2nd Floor, Suite 210
Buffalo, NY 14202

(Look for us behind Pearl Street)

This website is for informational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific legal advice. Nothing on this or associated pages should be taken as legal advice by any entity for any individual case or situation. Using this website or communicating with Western New York Law Center does not form an attorney-client relationship. There is no attorney-client relationship unless and until you sign an agreement confirming the nature and scope of representation.

Please do not act or refrain from acting based on information or materials on this site. The website should not be used as a substitute for competent legal advice from a licensed, professional attorney in your state. Please do not send any confidential information to us until such time as an attorney-client relationship has been established.